Well y’all, it’s been sick town in this house for a couple

Well y’all, it’s been sick town in this house for a couple

12/22/2021, 5:11:50 PM
Well y’all, it’s been sick town in this house for a couple days and so I’ve given up on attempting to read. Not complaining though. Laying around in the dark snuggling a little sickie and chilling before Christmas is still a pretty great life. . This fun package arrived a couple days ago, and I unwrapped “See You in the Cosmos” veeeery carefully from the gold iPod wrapping, and wrapped another book into it for the photo. ha. But the golden iPod is a big part of the story, so I wanted to put it in the photo! . I love middle grade and this one has been said to be great for fans of Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, which are two books I’ve read and loved. Also, I do adore a good middle-grade, so I’m looking forward to reading this. (synopsis below) . ✨ Alex Petroski, in “See You In the Cosmos” is space-obsessed and spends time recording what his earth life is like to show other life forms. . What’s one thing that you would want other life forms to know about your Earth Life? . Synopsis: 11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his brother, and his dog Carl Sagan—named for his hero, the real-life astronomer. All he wants is to launch his golden iPod into space the way Carl Sagan (the man, not the dog) launched his Golden Record on the Voyager spacecraft in 1977. From Colorado to New Mexico, Las Vegas to L.A., Alex records a journey on his iPod to show other lifeforms what life on earth, his earth, is like. But his destination keeps changing. And the funny, lost, remarkable people he meets along the way can only partially prepare him for the secrets he’ll uncover—from the truth about his long-dead dad to the fact that, for a kid with a troubled mom and a mostly not-around brother, he has way more family than he ever knew. . Jack Cheng’s debut is full of joy, optimism, determination, and unbelievable heart. To read the first page is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To read the last is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time.

Related book reviews